10 May 2024

Oldest Railway Stations in India

The Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus and Bori Station) is the oldest railway station in India. Initially, it was the site of the Bori Bunder railway station, which was built in 1853.

Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus

The Howrah Junction is located in Howrah Kolkata. It was built in 1854 with one platform, housed within one small hut.

Howrah Junction

The Roya Puram Railway Station is in Royapuram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu. The construction of the railway station began in 1853 and finished in June 1856.

Roya Puram Railway Station

The Kanpur Central Railway Station, formerly called Cawnpur North Barracks, is in Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. It finished construction in 1859, from whence the first train to Allahabad originated.

Kanpur Central

Allahabad Junction is the former name of the Prayagraj Junction Railway Station. It is located in Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh. The construction of the junction started in 1855 and finished in 1859.

Allahabad Junction

The Vadodara Junction (formerly, Baroda City Junction) was built in 1861 by Maharaja Khanderao. It is located in Sayajiganj, Vadodara, Gujarat.

Vadodara Junction

The Old Delhi Railway Station named ‘Delhi Junction’ was constructed in 1864 near Chandni Chowk with two small platforms. It was formerly called Purani Dilli Junction and Lahore Railway Station.

Old Delhi Railway Station

Madras Central (Chennai Central), officially Puratchi Thalaivar Dr M.G. Ramachandran Central Railway Station is located in Periyamet, Chennai, Tamil Nadu. It was constructed between 1862 and 1873.

Madras Central

The Agra Fort Railway Station is located in Rakabganj, Agra, Uttar Pradesh. It was constructed in 1873. Situated near the Agra Fort's perimeter, it is a double-storey symmetrical building.

Agra Fort Railway Station

The Jhansi Junction Railway Station or Virangana Lakshmibai Jhansi Railway Station is located in Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh. It was constructed in the late 1880s.

Jhansi Junction