8 Japanese Artforms You Need To Know About

1. Ikebana

Inspired by Buddhist tea masters, ikebana peaked in the sixteenth century and has since developed into a number of separate schools. Along with chadō (tea and the tea ceremony) and kōdō (appreciation of incense), it is one of the traditional arts of Japan.

2. Origami

The Japanese art of origami involves the folding and sculpting of flat sheets of paper into sculptures using various techniques. It is separated into two categories: ceremonial origami and recreational origami, the latter of which is more popular.

3. Oshibana

The technique of painting with pressed flowers and other natural materials is known as Oshibana. This age-old custom originated in Japan in the sixteenth century and is now widely used. The method entails utilising dried flower petals and leaves to create creative compositions.

4. Kintsugi

The Japanese technique known as “golden joinery,” or kintsugi, involves using urushi lacquer that has been infused with powdered gold, silver, or platinum to mend shattered pottery. It cherishes an object’s past and views fracture as a necessary component of its narrative.

5. Shunga

The sensual art form known as “spring pictures,” or shunga, originated in early modern Japan and features graphic sexual themes. It was widely accepted during the Edo period (1600–1868) and openly discussed homosexuality, female sexuality, and sexual pleasure.

6. Japanese Pop Art

Japanese pop art is a form of contemporary Japanese art. It has gained immense modern-day reach and audience. Some of the popular names in the field are: Takashi Murakami, Yayoi Kusama, Yoshimoto Nara

7. Japanese Frog Art

Ancient Japanese art consisting of frogs has recently gained popularity as it has been doing its rounds on the internet.

8. Kakemono/Kakejiku

A Japanese hanging scroll called a kakemono, sometimes referred to as a kakejiku, is used to exhibit calligraphy and art. It can be folded up for storage because it has silk fabric edges and a flexible backing. The “Maruhyosō” style is divided into four sections: “ichimonji” composed of “kinran” gold thread, “ten” (heaven), “chi” (earth), and “hashira” (pillars).